Worst Voice Acting… Ever?

My good friend Garrett sent me a link recently, to what seemed like an innocent anime cutscene from some game I’ve never heard of, Chaos Wars. I hit the play button, and was subjected to 4 minutes of tortuous voice acting- watch for yourself:

This got me thinking, I am no stranger to bad voice overs-  my very first hardcore gaming experience was playing through FFX, which had awful dubbing and I have played worse games since. Despite that, Chaos Wars was worst game I’d ever heard!

So I began a little research into Chaos Wars and discovered the website AudioAtrocities – a site dedicated to the worst voice acting in the last 20 years of voiced videogames.

Chaos Wars only placed #5 in the top worst games ever ranking- so I decided to give you those ‘treasures’ ranked even better (or worse as the case may be.)

  • #4 – Castle Shikigami: With unfortunate gay jokes and phrases like “Slaves for fashion dislike bulges” it’s no surprise this Playstation 2 game made the list.
  • #3 – Resident Evil: Director’s Cut: The classic line from RE,”..you, the master of unlocking”, has been quoted and parodied countless times as an example of poor voice acting and even worse dialogue. RE has since upped it’s game. Well, sort of.
  • #2 – Deep Fear: What is it about horror games having the worst dubbing?! This clip might be the worst single voice I’ve ever heard in a game – “Dubois” as the character is known, has his high pitched voice awkwardly crack about 1 second into his performance. Nice.
  • #1 – Last Alert: … I have no words for this game. Just listen to this clip and you’ll know why. Painful. So dreadfully painful.

So, now that I have thoroughly sullied your day with crappy voice acting, I leave you with this video catalog of the Top 50 Worst Voice Acting Lines:

-E.B.

2 thoughts on “Worst Voice Acting… Ever?

  1. This made me laugh so hard! and I thought Barry from Resi was going to be the pinnacle….boy was I wrong!

    “that’s what you should have done…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….in the beginning”

Leave a Reply

