The Casual Vacancy – Next Big Hit or Big Bomb?

For those of you who have dedicated yourselves to J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter you may not have know she is releasing her newest book on Thursday. The Casual Vacancy is about a small, quaint British village thrown into chaos during its local elections. It sounds like a very traditional British novel, and I will be interested to see how J.K. does in her first post-Potter project.

One particular article caught my eye however, where Rowling claimed she expects a lot of bad reviews when the book first comes out. While this makes me sad, I understand the logic behind it. Rowling isn’t the same type of wordsmith you find in Patrick Rothfuss – her sentences can be awkward and she embraces cliches with open arms. Now that she’s gearing her work towards a slightly older audience, they may be less tolerant of some of those short comings. There’s also the fact that people who find great success are critiqued heavily in their other endeavors…

That being said, children and adults alike fell in love (and remained in love) with Harry Potter because the setting was so vivid, so intricate. I personally think it will be fascinating to see if Rowling can create such an immersive world without the aide of magics and mythology.

I have to be honest, I have no idea whether or not I’m going to read The Casual Vacancy. It will be exceptionally interesting to see if any other Potterheads read it!

– E.B.

One thought on “The Casual Vacancy – Next Big Hit or Big Bomb?

  1. I completely forgot this existed and was coming out . . . I think I’ll wait a month and see what some Potterheads have to say about it before I go diving in.

Leave a Reply

